Page 1 of 1

Can I use same chipset with different manuf. to be the 802.11ac's capture device?

Posted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:05 am
by HKL
Hi Admins,

Due to the chipset of Linksys AE6000 is "MediaTek MT7610U".
Can I use same chipset with different manufacturer to be the capture device?

Thanks.

Devices using MT7610U as below.
1. ASUS USB-AC50
2. ASUS USB-AC51
3. D-Link DWA-171 rev B1

MediaTek MT7610U
https://wikidevi.com/wiki/MediaTek_MT7610U

Re: Can I use same chipset with different manuf. to be the 802.11ac's capture device?

Posted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:50 am
by DJWP
Hello-

We have not tested OmniPeek with any of the adapters you reference. However, the current Ralink driver used by OmniPeek (5.1.12.48) appears to work with all the 2870 based Ralink/MediaTek adapters. We would encourage you to load the driver and let us know the result. You can get the driver here:

ftp://wpupload:packetup@wps-ftp.wildpac ... .12.48.zip

Re: Can I use same chipset with different manuf. to be the 802.11ac's capture device?

Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 1:38 am
by HKL
Hi Admins,

Finally, I chosen the ASUS USB-AC51 as test target and it works properly.
I also found the driver can be use on other MediaTek product, please refer the pictures below.

1. NETGEAR WNDA4100
http://imgur.com/hDXBaoO

2. ASUS USB-AC51
http://imgur.com/Uw8FJas

3. NETGEAR A6210
http://imgur.com/kp6sIrT

Hope the information can help other people.
World peace!

Re: Can I use same chipset with different manuf. to be the 802.11ac's capture device?

Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 10:37 am
by DJWP
Thank you for letting us know!