Page 1 of 1

Capturing a remote Extreme Networks AP

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 4:55 am
by pkulmbrein
Hi,

as I am new to Omnipeek please help me with a simple issue:

Up to now i captured the traffic running via an Extreme AP3715i with wireshark (I just added a remote
interface by entering the IP and port 2002) and was able to capture the traffic.

Now i want the same using omnipeek - i tried to add an AccessPointCaptureAdapter and entered the same
IP as I did with wireshark - but if i start capturing nothing happens.

Could you please give me some info what I am doing wrong.

BR
Peter

Re: Capturing a remote Extreme Networks AP

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 12:34 pm
by DJWP
Omnipeek does not support the Extreme Networks AP using the Access Point Capture Adapter.

However, if the Extreme device support RPCap, you could use that configuration within Omnipeek instead and that may work for you.

For the Adapter go to Aggregator>Roaming and you can set up an RPCap interface there-

Re: Capturing a remote Extreme Networks AP

Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 12:09 am
by pkulmbrein
Hi,

thanks for Info - ill give it a try as the AP support RPCAP
Peter