OmniPeek Support

Buffer issues?

roundhillmark
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 12:15 pm

Buffer issues?

Postby roundhillmark » Wed May 28, 2008 11:21 am

I keep seeing the buffer usage going to 100% on large packets. Can you expand the buffers to get around this? Is the ring buffer the one causing the problem? What is the max size for the buffer? Is there a rule of thumb in setting this up?

Thanks,
Mark

DJWP
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:42 am

Postby DJWP » Wed May 28, 2008 4:02 pm

This is normal. The buffer will fill up based on the settings in the Capture Options. You can set the buffer for different sizes, but it should never exceed more than 500mb. In most cases, buffer sizes are manageable at around 128mb. When the buffer reaches 100%, it then wraps and discards packets, first in first out. Please check the Help file for additional details and configuration options.

roundhillmark
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 12:15 pm

Buffer size

Postby roundhillmark » Thu May 29, 2008 3:54 am

I saw that, but it will not let me set it larger than 64 Meg. Is there a way around this?

Thanks!

PS. I am running version 5.1 of OmniPeek.

roundhillmark
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 12:15 pm

Ignore my last response

Postby roundhillmark » Thu May 29, 2008 4:24 am

I see where you are talking about now.

What is the difference between the following settings:

Capture/Capture options:
Buffer size (this is limited to 64M)

and

Tools/Options:
Driver Ring Buffer size

I am doing short burst of large packets, can I go over 500mb? When does OmniPeek have problems?

DJWP
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:42 am

Postby DJWP » Thu May 29, 2008 8:19 am

You must have a legacy version of the product, the ring buffer setting was eliminated quite a while ago. The capture buffer size is dependent on memory. What product/version do you have?

roundhillmark
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 12:15 pm

OmniPeek for Windows - Version 5.1

Postby roundhillmark » Thu May 29, 2008 8:26 am

Application information:
OmniPeek Enterprise Upgrade
Product version: 5.1.0.0
File version: 6.3.0.24

What is the current version?

DJWP
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:42 am

Postby DJWP » Thu May 29, 2008 8:53 am

That is the current version. The Driver Ring buffer size used to be part of the capture options and is no longer. This is because this really is not related to the capture, it is related to the hardware adapters in the machine and should never be changed (which is why it was removed from the Capture Options). It serves as a backup of sorts.

How much memory is in your machine? If you are only able to create a 64MB capture buffer, then your machine does not have enough memory to run OmniPeek:

http://www.wildpackets.com/products/omn ... quirements

roundhillmark
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 12:15 pm

Buffer issues?

Postby roundhillmark » Thu May 29, 2008 9:01 am

So the setting for the Driver Ring Buffer (limited to 64M) is related to the physical hardware (lan controller). Should this be set to default or is it OK to set to 64M?

The machine I have is a Xeon (2 Gig) with 2 Gig of memory. I have bumped the buffer size in Capture/Capture options to 1 Gig and that has help. Are there any limits, recommendation based on memory installed, etc.?

Thanks

DJWP
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:42 am

Postby DJWP » Thu May 29, 2008 10:56 am

Please do not change the Ring Buffer, leave it at the default of 4096. Please check the TechTips on our web site for optimization tips for your particular situation.


Return to “OmniPeek Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest