OmniPeek Support

"Start Monitor" not working + Monitor WLAN grayed

xjessie007
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:33 am

"Start Monitor" not working + Monitor WLAN grayed

Postby xjessie007 » Wed Aug 06, 2008 3:06 am

Hi,

I installed OmniPeek, and it seems to be able to capture packets ok. So, I know something is working. The problem is that the "Start Monitor" functionality on the Start page does not work. When I click it, nothing happens. This is also probably related to the Monitor -> WLAN functionality. That one is grayed out, I can't click it. So, I can't run analytics on available wireless networks and APs. I searched the web as much as I could, but I still can't find the answer.

I am running it on Intel Pro/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection with driver version 11.5.1.15. I guess my wireless adapter is ok since it can capture packets, no? Is there anything with the adapter that would prevent me from WLAN Monitor?

Tx.

DJWP
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:42 am

Postby DJWP » Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:23 am

Which version of OmniPeek do you have? OmniPeek Workgroup only allows the use of one adapter at any one time.

xjessie007
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:33 am

Postby xjessie007 » Wed Aug 06, 2008 1:44 pm

Hi, it is "OmniPeek Personal version 4.1"

DJWP
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:42 am

Postby DJWP » Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:31 am

That version only allows the use of one NIC. You cannot monitor and capture at the same time.

xjessie007
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:33 am

Postby xjessie007 » Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:42 am

Ok, thanks. So, which version do I need to have so that it supports capture + monitor at the same time?

Also, when I click the "New Capture", a new window opens up. Then I go to the 802.11 tab which should allow me to select BSSID, ESSID, etc. These options are also grayed out. Is that specific to this version too?

DJWP
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:42 am

Postby DJWP » Thu Aug 07, 2008 2:37 pm

OmniPeek Personal was discontinued more that a year ago. You will need to contact our sales group and they will advise you:

sales@wildpackets.com

925-937-3200

You will need a supported adapter in order to capture wireless traffic:

http://www.wildpackets.com/support/downloads/drivers

jilawatan
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 5:31 am

I m facing the same problem

Postby jilawatan » Mon Aug 18, 2008 5:34 am

I m facing the same problem, i m using atheros 5200X chipset WLAN adapter and omnipeek enterprise edition (latest one), i have installed the supported driver as well but its not working

DJWP
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:42 am

Postby DJWP » Mon Aug 18, 2008 12:51 pm


jilawatan
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 5:31 am

Postby jilawatan » Mon Aug 18, 2008 1:02 pm

Yes it is on the list and I have downloaded from there v4.2** for atheros

DJWP
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:42 am

Postby DJWP » Mon Aug 18, 2008 1:55 pm

what is the exact make and model of the adapter?

jilawatan
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 5:31 am

Postby jilawatan » Tue Aug 19, 2008 1:19 am

NEC WL54G 802.11A/B/G WIRELESS LAN PCMCIA CARD

Atheros AR5002X chipset

DJWP
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:42 am

Postby DJWP » Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:42 am

According to Atheros web site, this adapter uses the 5001X+ chipset, which is Super G. Super G is not supported at the present time:

http://customerproducts.atheros.com/cus ... eBasic.asp

Enter NEC/Cardbus/a/b/g and you will see the result.

jilawatan
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 5:31 am

Postby jilawatan » Tue Aug 19, 2008 2:49 pm

but it is mentioned on the wildpacket website that atheors 5002 is supported by their provided driver , neway i need infor about this WLAN adapter

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Netgear-WN511T-Ra ... 286.c0.m14

is this card supported with wildpacket?

or are there any sofware available to download like sniffer ?

DJWP
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:42 am

Postby DJWP » Tue Aug 19, 2008 4:09 pm

This card is supported, but uses a custom Marvell driver. You would need to own OmniPeek with maintenance in order to get this driver.

We do not support any third party software with our drivers.

jilawatan
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 5:31 am

Postby jilawatan » Fri Aug 22, 2008 1:07 pm

I bought the above mentioned card today, but still having a same problem for connectivity, Any help ? or please could you write down the whole procedure to setup the configuration for omni peek ? I have WPA / TKIP
security mechnism is setup on my Wireless Router.


[quote="DJWP"]This card is supported, but uses a custom Marvell driver. You would need to own OmniPeek with maintenance in order to get this driver.

We do not support any third party software with our drivers.[/quote]


Return to “OmniPeek Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests