OmniPeek Support

Can I launch Omnipeek without taking over my wifi adapter?

aaron@cisco.com
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:41 pm

Can I launch Omnipeek without taking over my wifi adapter?

Postby aaron@cisco.com » Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:19 pm

When I launch Omnipeek (6.0.6), it grabs hold of my wifi adapter (Intel 3945.) Causing me to lose network connectivity. Is there some way for me to tell Omnipeek *not* to take over my wifi adapter - e.g. if I'm running it only to read an existing capture, not to do a new wireless capture?

DJWP
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:42 am

RE: Can I launch Omnipeek without taking over my wifi adapte

Postby DJWP » Mon Feb 22, 2010 9:07 am

Hi, Aaron-

OmniPeek should not use the adapter unless you are doing a capture or have designated it as a Monitor. Is the 3945 set up as a Monitor adapter?

aaron@cisco.com
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:41 pm

RE: RE: Can I launch Omnipeek without taking over my wifi ad

Postby aaron@cisco.com » Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:31 am

Thanks, that was it! I had turned on monitor mode in a previous session, and hadn't turned it off.


Return to “OmniPeek Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests